Events & Workshops

Each season we bring together like-minded, creative individuals through a series of virtual events, talks and workshops.

Prices for individual events vary. You will also have the opportunity to donate* to the Crafts Council UK. All you need to take part is a webcam and microphone - we suggest using a laptop or desktop computer, but you can also use your tablet or mobile phone. We recommend using a WiFi connection to avoid data charges.

Please register using the links below to confirm your place.

Virtual Workshops

TOAST & TATTER | Stitched Shibori with Aaron Sanders Head

Shibori is a traditional dye technique, originating in Japan, of patterning cloth by folding, stitching or tying fabric. Join practicing artist and Tatter tutor Aaron Sanders Head in an intimate workshop exploring the diversity of shibori. Using a range of resist and stitch techniques, Aaron will demonstrate the varied response of pattern and texture that shibori methods can create. Following the stitch element of the workshop, Aaron will demonstrate how to overdye cloth using indigo and share tips on a range of simple natural dyes to use at home, revealing how natural fibres react to certain dyes. By the end of the workshop, you will have the tools and framework to develop your shibori project further at home, as well as a deeper understanding of the craft. Tickets cost £15 and 20% of the ticket price will be donated to Crafts Council UK.

Thu 15 April, 5pm BST (6pm CEST / 12pm EDT), 1 hour 30 mins.

Register

Thu 6 May, 7pm BST (8pm CEST / 2pm EDT), 1 hour 30 mins.

Register

A Traditional Italian Picnic with Olivia Cavalli

Join chef and food stylist Olivia Cavalli to learn how to make some of Italy’s most popular picnic treats for outdoor dining. From a traditional torta and farro salad, to sweet and crunchy taralli, Olivia will demonstrate the art of using simple ingredients and repurposing leftovers, emphasising the importance of a home-cooked meal. Through her step-by-step guide on each recipe, you will come away with the perfect accompaniments for your next picnic. Tickets cost £10 and 20% of the ticket price will be donated to Crafts Council UK.

Sat 24 April, 10am BST (11am CEST / 7pm AEST), 2 hours.

Register

Thu 27 May, 2pm BST (3pm CEST / 9am EDT), 2 hours.

Register

Knitwear Darning with Molly Martin

Join textile repairer Molly Martin to learn the basics of knitwear darning. During this workshop you will be guided through the traditional practice of repairing your knitwear through darning. After learning about this age-old technique, you will be invited to join Molly and begin a repair on your own cherished item, from knitted socks and jumpers to blankets and homewares. Following this you will have the opportunity to ask questions about mending. This workshop is suitable for beginners and is free to attend, with the opportunity to make a voluntary donation*.

Tue 27 April, 8am BST (9am CEST / 5pm AEST), 1 hour 15 mins.

Register

Cotton & Linen Repairs with Molly Martin

Join textile repairer Molly Martin to discover the art of visible mending. In this workshop, Molly will show you how to repair and restore your beloved homeware textiles - whether it be a fraying pillow case, a torn tea towel or simply a linen garment that needs some care. Using patches made from reclaimed materials, Molly will demonstrate how to repair both small and large holes and tears using traditional techniques that have been inspired by Indian Kantha stitching and Japanese sashiko repair. This workshop is suitable for beginners and is free to attend, with the opportunity to make a voluntary donation*.

Wed 28 April, 8am BST (9am CEST / 5pm AEST), 1 hour 15 mins.

Register

Repair & Renewal | A Panel Discussion

To celebrate the launch of TOAST Renewal, craft and sustainability writer Katie Treggiden will lead a conversation with menders, researchers and designers at the forefront of circular thinking. Including visible mender Tom of Holland; author of Kintsugi:The Poetic Mend, Bonnie Kemske; renowned textile artist Celia Pym; and Seetal Solanki, – materials researcher, designer and author of Why Materials Matter. The panel will explore mending, reuse and repair through the lenses of sustainability, culture and storytelling, encouraging the audience to look at darned jumpers and mended homewares in a whole new light. This event is free to attend, with the opportunity to make a voluntary donation*.

Wed 28 April, 7pm BST (8pm CEST / 2pm EDT), 1 hour.

Register

The Body in Movement: Rhythm & Line with Stephanie Forrest from The Royal Drawing School

Join practicing artist and Royal Drawing School tutor Stephanie Forrest for an ink painting workshop exploring the body, movement, rhythm and line. The session will begin with a range of warm-up exercises designed to connect you with your materials and expand your mark-making vocabulary. Combining ancient Chinese principles of calligraphy with Laban’s taxonomy of movements, Stephanie will encourage you to respond to the dancer in movement to create a series of layered, gestural drawings full of rhythmic vitality and dynamic brushwork. This workshop is open to all levels. Tickets cost £10 and 20% of the ticket price will be donated to Crafts Council UK.

Thu 29 April, 7pm BST (8pm CEST / 2pm EDT), 2 hours.

Register

Upcoming on Instagram

The Traditions of Tea in Spring | Time to Make

New York-based Té Company source handmade teas from generation-old tea makers in Taiwan. Join founder Elena Liao as part of our Time to Make series as she prepares some of her favourite brews for spring and summer. During the session, Elena will share tips on selecting teas for warmer months. She will also discuss the health benefits of green, low oxidized oolong and wild chrysanthemum teas through the lens of Traditional Chinese Medicine.

Available on IGTV on Thu 22 April.

Past Events | Watch Again

Japanese Home Cooking with Sonoko Sakai | Time to Make

Join cookbook author and teacher Sonoko Sakai as she makes one of her favourite, staple recipes from scratch. Whilst writing her book Japanese Home Cooking, Sonoko set out to create her own straightforward curry recipes that didn't rely on time consuming methods and complicated ingredients. As part of our Time to Make series, Sonoko will demonstrate how to make a curry brick from a unique blend of spices from her kitchen in LA. Using the brick, she will then show each step to achieving a quick, wholesome home curry that is full of fresh vegetables and flavours.

Watch

Styling Conversations with TOAST

Join us for our latest conversation, as we share key pieces from our Spring collection and discuss how to wear and layer each look. Considering colour and texture, and using a range of garments we will present versatile outfits, working to a range of proportions and silhouettes. From pairing craft pieces with casual workwear for the home environment, to layering prints and patterns, we will provide interactive styling tips giving you the confidence to invent unique, comfortable and creative combinations.

Watch

Spring Wreath Making with Fox & Thorn | Time to Make

London-based floral designer Paula Ellis of Fox & Thorn creates sculptural arrangements made from carefully sourced materials; some foraged, some found. Using seasonal stems, bulbs from local growers and fresh moss from her local surroundings, Paula will demonstrate how to make a spring wreath to hang above your door this Easter. Paula will use simple bundle and binding techniques, resulting in a wild and natural wreath that can be adorned with naturally dyed ribbon.

Watch

A Live Conversation with Molly Martin

Join us in conversation with Molly Martin as we discuss her debut book, The Art of Repair. During the conversation we will discuss the inspiration behind the book, from repair stories and influential textile artists to personal items from Molly’s own wardrobe. Comprising a collection of narratives, tips and fragments of history around the art of mending, the book not only investigates useful hand techniques, but offers a potential antipode to our increasingly disposable lifestyles. The conversation will contemplate the connection we can get from the humble act of mending the things we own, and what that might mean for ourselves and the planet.

Watch

A Recipe for Ukrainian Strudel with Olia Hercules | Time to Make

Chef and author Olia Hercules creates dishes and recipes that explore the people, landscape and traditions of her native Ukraine. Join Olia in our Time to Make series as she creates a sweet bread filled with poppy seed and nut paste, similar to the strudel traditionally eaten at Easter in Ukraine. Olia will demonstrate how to make a traditional yeasted dough and filling - a recipe that was passed on by her great-grandmother.

Watch

 

*All donations you make will support the Crafts Council UK in their Let’s Craft campaign - helping to create Craft Packs for children most in need of support. The aim is to ensure that these children do not miss out on the health, wellbeing and educational benefits of creativity.